Heritage Library

Tredegar Band Heritage

Pioneering LEader

Tredegar Band - 1976

Tredegar Band celebrated its centenary in 1976. Under the baton of John Childs they also won the British Open Grand Shield (see on the left of the image) in Blackpool as well as the South Wales Miners’ Gala (trophy on the right of the image).

The picture was taken in the bandroom with the following personnel:

Back row (L-R):  Robert Powell; Hayden Stredwick; Ian Morgan; Clive Pinney; Hywel Fox; Chris Sharpe; David Carey; Neil Robson; Tudor Williams (principal cornet); Doug Moss; Ian Waite

Middle row (L-R): Paul Morris; Liz Russell; Darryl Cross; Jane Russell; Eugene Pearce; Alwyn Powell; Nigel Weeks

Front row (L-R): David Lester; Trevor Greenwood; Nicholas Childs; Trevor White; John Childs (Musical Director); David Banwell; William Cross; Brian Gratton; David Moon

The aim of this Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) supported project is to provide an on-line multi-media resource that will celebrate and interpret the historical importance of the social, cultural and musical achievements of Tredegar Town Band over a time-line of the past 170 years – from the earliest reported origins in 1849 to date.

Stay in the know and join our newsletter

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.